About Us

Who We Are

In 1985, the ten First Nation communities in the Rainy Lake Tribal area formed the Rainy Lake Ojibway Education Authority. The ten communities are; Big Grassy, Big Island, Couchiching, Lac La Croix, Naicatchewenin, Nigigigoonsiminikaaning, Ojibways of Onigaming, Rainy River First Nations, Seine River and Mitaanjigaming.

The union was formed because of the desire to maintain traditional cultural and linguistic values along with improving economic and social status. Education was seen as a driving force in the quest for political self-determination. Each of the ten First Nation communities appointed one member to a Board of Directors, which governs the Institute and works with the Chief Executive Officer.

Since our inception in 1985, our organization has gone through an evolution process, from one of an advisory capacity to an institution providing educational programming at the elementary, secondary, post-secondary and vocational levels.

When we examined our current role within the community, our local governing First Nations suggested that a name change may be in order. To fulfill that desire, the Rainy Lake Ojibway Education Authority officially changed its name to Seven Generations Education Institute on July 1, 1999.